The immigration department falls under Ministry of Internal Affairs and Public Security. Its operations are governed by the Immigration Act, the Citizenship Act and the Constitution of the Republic of Malawi.


To provide sound migration management and achieve timely issuance of relevant documents to eligible persons for national security and socioeconomic development.


Well Managed Migration for Malawi.


Good Customer Service – We value fair treatment of our clients with courtesy and politeness as well as good public relations.

Transparency and Accountability – We believe in being open and accountable to our clients and stakeholders for the services we offer and the decisions we make.

Integrity and Honesty – We value discipline, good conduct and adherence to rules, regulations and procedures.

Responsiveness and resourcefulness – We believe in listening to, acting on views and exploring new ways that can help to improve our service delivery.

Mutual Trust – We believe in trusting each other and our clients at large  .

Innovativeness – We value integrating new ways and initiatives to improve the quality of our service.

Flexibility – We believe in creating a system that can easily adapt to changes in the environment in which we operate and to our clients needs and demands.

Main Functions

The Department exist to do the following:

To control people entering and exiting the country in order to uphold the security of the state.
To issue Travel documents to eligible people in accordance with the International Civil Aviation Organisation (ICAO).
To process and issue Malawi Citizenship, Residence and Work Permits, and Visas in accordance with the existing policies.
To monitor, track, apprehend, deport and repatriate illegal immigrants in order to promote security of the country and safeguard jobs for natives.

Current Institutional Arrangements

The Department of Immigration and Citizenship Services is one of the departments under the Ministry of Home Affairs and Internal Security. The overall responsibility for institutional management and development rests with the Director General who is the Head of the Department. Currently, the departments’ headquarters is in Blantyre and has four operational regions namely: Southern, Central, Northern and Eastern.


Useful Links

Malawi Government

Office of the Ombudsman

Malawi Legal Aid Bureau

Ministry of Justice

Malawi Law Commission

The Malawi Parliament

The Anti- Corruption Bureau (ACB)

Malawi Law Society

Malawi Judiciary

Ministry of Information


The Principal Secretary

Ministry of Homeland Security

Private Bag 31054

Capital Hill Floor No:2

Lilongwe 3


Telephone: +265 1 772 745

Fax: +265 1 740 685